Loading Map....

Date(s) - 02/07/2018 - 07/07/2018
All Day

Venice Academy of Human Rights


Migration is a complex issue. It cannot be reduced to simple answers and populist formulas. One needs to delve into the complexity of human mobility and develop nuanced opinions, informed by the experience and expertise of the migrants themselves. This 2018 Venice Summer Academy is dedicated to developing such sophisticated analysis, weaving numerous threads: economic gains and costs for countries and individuals; cultural and existential anxieties; labour rights of all workers, including migrants; human rights of all, including migrants; freedom of movement regional zones; limitations of our present conception of representative democracy.

Distinguished Opening Lecture
Rainer Münz, Adviser on Migration and Demography to the European Political Strategy Centre (EPSC)

General Course
François Crépeau, former U.N. Special Rapporteur on the Human Rights of Migrants, Hans & Tamar Oppenheimer Chair in Public International Law

Didier Bigo, Professor at Science Po Paris and King’s College London
Ryszard Cholewinski, Senior Migration Specialist in the ILO’s Regional Office for Arab States in Beirut
Elspeth Guild, Professor at Queen Mary University and Radboud University


You can view the detailed programme here.

Academics, practitioners, Ph.D/J.S.D. and master students

EIUC, Monastery of San Nicolò, Venice – Lido, Italy

Venice Academy of Human Rights
The Venice Academy of Human Rights is an international and interdisciplinary programme of excellence for human rights education, research and debate. It provides an enriching forum for emerging ideas, practices and policy options in the field of human rights. The Academy hosts distinguished experts to promote critical and useful research and innovation through the exchange of current knowledge. Previous editions of the academy featured lectures by Amartya Sen, Philip Alston, Theodor Meron, Mary Robinson, Bruno Simma, Jeremy Waldron, Olivier De Schutter, Miloon Kothari, Branko Milanović, Kate Pickett and Heisoo Shin among others.